Meet Kels J. Whitmore, a Spring 2021 Lede New Orleans Fellow

Kels J. Whitmore will be doing community reporting work in New Orleans this spring as part of the Lede New Orleans fellowship program.

Lede New Orleans
4 min readMay 10, 2021

By Montero Morton

Kels J. Whitmore, a Spring 2021 Lede New Orleans Fellow. (Photo by Bryan Tarnowski)

Last June, Kelsey J. Whitmore called her grandfather on the phone and told him she was moving from her hometown of Memphis to New Orleans. Whitmore, a public school teacher, wanted to get a fresh start in a new place. The pandemic closures provided an opening.

“I’m a firm believer that you shouldn’t stay stagnant in who you are. You should never get comfortable,” Whitmore said. “There’s always room to grow and expand. Moving to New Orleans, it’s like I became a whole new person.”

The move has had its challenges. Whitmore, who started teaching in Memphis in 2019, spent the fall teaching second grade at a charter school in New Orleans East. Whitmore left the classroom earlier this year, exhausted by what she described as a lack of support for teachers amid COVID-19 and online learning.

“It’s stressful trying to teach second graders anyway, but virtual and not being prepared? I just couldn’t do it,” Whitmore said.

As a Lede New Orleans Fellow, Whitmore, 24, is interested in learning skills that will help her tell the stories of her community, including educators.

You’ve taught in public schools in Memphis and New Orleans. What was that like?

It was very emotionally draining. I think I realized the education system now is not the same as when I was younger. When I came into teaching, I definitely thought it would be like how I grew up. It wasn’t like that at all. I was completely mind blown, in shambles every single day. Every day I was like: I did not sign up for this. I do not get enough pay for this. This is not in my pay grade. It was a very enlightening experience.

What made you want to become a teacher?

Seeing the quality of education decline. I was blessed to have a good education growing up in public school. Seeing that and knowing that I wanted to see what the problem is. What can change? How can I be a changing force? So I just stepped into it.

What brought you joy while teaching?

My students. They definitely brought me a lot of joy. Kids are hilarious. It doesn’t matter what age. They are funny. They say whatever is on their mind. I definitely appreciated that. I think one thing that I’m that I’m proud of from being a teacher is just like being the teacher that was there. Not even as far as like teaching, but being their home away from home. I was always the teacher who could pull you to the side if you needed to talk to me or there was something going on. I was always the teacher there with open arms and open ears. Just being there. I think it’s important for a lot of kids to have someone that they can tell what’s going on to.

What is something you struggle with?

Definitely my lack of empathy. It might just be from how I grew up and what I’ve seen. I’m very much cut off from feelings with other people. But as I’m growing and with teaching, I’ve had to develop showing more empathy. I do appreciate when people call me out on it.

Why is that?

The city I grew up in is very much tough skin and don’t show emotions. Like, no one should know you’re weak. Growing up, especially with my dad, if my feelings were hurt, or something like that, he’d be like, “OK, get over it” or “Why are you crying?” Now I have nieces and nephews, I’m so bad at that, but I’m getting better. My nephew will be crying, he’s 10. He’ll be crying. And I’ll be like, “What you crying for? Stop crying.” I have to catch myself and be like, “You are allowed to have feelings.” But I wasn’t taught that.

Who was a role model for you?

One of my 12th grade English teachers, Mama Coco. She had this closet, and she would snatch us in the closet in the middle of class and be like, “What’s wrong with you? What’s wrong? There’s something wrong, talk to me. What do you need? Do you need to have a moment? Do you need to collect your thoughts? Let me know.” I appreciated that because I was not very vocal at home, my parents weren’t the type to be like, “Oh, what’s wrong? Tell me your feelings.” Being in school and having somebody to talk that was an adult and not my friend. It was important. I always knew, if I could give back like and teach somehow, I would be like Coco and do everything she did.

Being from Memphis is a big part of your identity. Why?

My city is my driving force for everything. Like, I will put my city on my back. I will die for my city. It’s who I am. It made me who I am. It’s in me, not on me.

How has moving to New Orleans shaped you?

I’m a little bit more free than I am when I’m at home. At home, people expect me to do a certain thing or be a certain way. Here, I don’t know as many people. I can be whoever I desire to be. It’s kind of like a fresh start.

Montero Morton is a Lede New Orleans Senior Fellow. He is a writer and aspiring actor who was born and raised in New Orleans.

--

--

Lede New Orleans

Lede New Orleans equips creative professionals from underrepresented communities, age 18-25, with skills, tools and resources to transform local media.